2018 Faculty Travel Award Recipients Announced

October 31, 2018

CGHSR extends congratulations to Kelly Searle (School of Public Health), Keith Horvath (School of Public Health), and Jennifer Rickard (Medical School) who are the most recent recipients of the CGHSR Faculty Travel Awards. The next application deadline for CGHSR Faculty Travel Awards is February 1, 2019.

Keith Horvath, Associate Professor, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, School of Public Health: To host Dr. Jane Wanyama, who has worked with the Infectious Diseases Institute (IDI) the largest HIV care provider in Uganda for the last fourteen years, whose mission is to strengthen health systems in Africa with strong emphasis on infectious diseases through research and capacity development, to visit Minnesota to forge closer research collaborations and to contribute to an NIH grant proposal.

Jennifer Rickard, Assistant Professor, Division of Critical Care/Acute Care Surgery Department of Surgery, Medical School: to continue and expand research partnership with collaborators from the University Teaching Hospital of Kigali, Rwanda assessing the microbiology and antibiotic resistance patterns in surgical patients, while strengthening mentoring activities.

Kelly Searle, Assistant Professor, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health, University of Minnesota School of Public Health: to explore various sites in Mozambique and Zimbabwe in order to establish a new collaboration between the University of Minnesota School of Public Health and the Catholic University of Mozambique. The specific collaboration will be with the Catholic University of Mozambique in Chimoio, Manica Province. This will also leverage a current collaboration with the Central and Southern Africa International Center for Malaria Research (ICEMR) at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.